Which MX-5 Model Have I Got ?
Blog      Kontakta oss

Which MX-5 Model Have I Got ?

Mk3.5 (NC-FL) 2009 – 2013

Appearing at the Paris motor show in 2008 and again in Chicago in 2009 before it\’s launch, the Mk3.5 coincided with Mazda\’s 20th Anniversary celebrations. The NC facelift can be easily identified from the outside by it\’s much bigger front grille opening and almost “leaf” shaped front fog lamp openings. Available as a soft top or retractable hardtop coupe, there are four different models to choose from. The basic 1.8L, a 2.0L, a 2.0L Sport Tech and a 2.0L Power Shift. The last two benefit amongst other things from a six speed manual transmission, with the Powershift being a six speed sequential paddle shift transmission. The 2.0L engine in the Mk3.5 has a higher rev limit, sportier sound and has been internally upgraded with a forged crankshaft, fully floating pistons and a new design of valve spring. The Sport Tech and Powershift options also come with a leather interior, climate control, cruise control, limited slip diff, Bilstein sports suspension, a 6-disc auto-changer and brushed aluminium effect design bar cladding, making the latest offering in the MX5 line up not only one of the most stylish, but certainly one of the most well equipped. Recent special editions of the NC facelift include the 20th Anniversary, and the Miyako.

So which model do you have?

Summary –

Model Model Code Production Dates Main Distinguishing Features
Mk1 NA 1989 – 1998 Pop up head lights
Mk2 NB 1998 – 2000 Fixed headlights
Mk2.5 NB-FL 2001 – 2005 Openings for fog lamps in the front bumper
Mk3 NC 2005 – 2008 Complete redesign with the car being longer and wider
Mk3.5 NC-FL 2009 – 2013 Larger grille opening and “leaf” shaped fog lamp openings
Mk3.75 NC-FL2 2013 – 2015 Even larger grille opening and squarer fog lamp openings
Mk4 ND 2015 on Awesome new looks

Links –

Download a Printable PDF of the Chassis Number Identification System